[REVIEW] The Fourth Monkey by J.D. Barker #4MK

I came across this book quite accidentally whilst scrolling through NetGalley in search for new books. I was immediately attracted to it because of it’s creepy cover and when I read the description I was like: ‘Yess, this sounds like my thang’. I managed to get a copy of it and boy was this book something!

The ‘Four Monkey Killer’ has been terrorising Chicago for over five years with his upsetting and unusual killings. The book opens with the killer’s body being found and the police soon find out that he was about to send a final message – that there’s one last victim he took before his death. His killings consist of torturing the victim and cutting their ears, eyes and tongue which one by one he sends to the close family of the victim. If this doesn’t sound creepy and interesting.. just wait. The book follows the Detective who has been chasing this killer for quite some time now called Sam Porter and he’s trying to piece out the meaning and the intellect behind Four Monkey Killer’s murders with his goal being to find the last victim. This book has several POVs – Sam Porters, Clairs, the Killers childhood (told through diary entries) and the victims. Are you sold now? I can’t say more because I don’t want to ruin this wild ride for future readers.

This book was so interesting and creepy in such a brilliantly done way. I have to say that the book itself doesn’t have long chapters which made it a fun read and it was also fast-paced with the hearing of different voices from other characters. I loved how Barker created the 4MK because his mind is so twisted and dark that the adding of the diary entries made the reader understand the reason why he is the way he is. A good and healthy upbringing is the most important thing in shaping the future life and personality of any child– the child gets to look up to his/her parents, sees the world the way they see it and learns from them – and this book shows us how this can be a trigger for such devious behaviour at a very young age. I found the diary entries the most interesting even though the events at the end were also great and filled with plot twists. I’m sure that this thriller will be well liked and be on everyone’s shelves when it comes out this summer. Trust me guys, you won’t be disappointed.

Very dark and amazing thriller which should be read by everyone who loves this genre.

I received an egalley of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

You can win a draft copy of this book – enter here.

My rating: 

Add ‘The Fourth Monkey’ to your TBR:   goodreads-logo-square

*Purchase ‘The Fourth Monkey‘ here: amazoncom-inc-logo

*Purchase ‘The Fourth Monkey’ with free worldwide shipping: the_book_depository-svg

**I am in no way compensated by these sites. I am simply sharing it so people can find this book easier.

J. D. BARKER is the international best-selling author of Forsaken, a finalist for the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Debut Novel. In addition, he has been asked to coauthor a prequel to Dracula by the Stoker family. Barker splits his time between Englewood, Florida, and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Find him on: Website,  Facebook, Twitter and GoodReads

22 thoughts on “[REVIEW] The Fourth Monkey by J.D. Barker #4MK

      • I was trying to save it to read until June for it’s release but I don’t know if I can wait that long:) Also, when I went to respond to your comment about my Ragdoll review WP permanently deleted it…I have no idea how…so thank you for that and for letting me know there’s 2 more books in the works, that makes me so happy!:)

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ears, eyes and tongue huh? That immediately reminds me of the whole “see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil”. I guess the fact the title also mentions monkeys helped me think about the three wise monkeys hahaha Great review though! Definitely piqued my curiosity!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to read this book. It was recommended to me by someone who knows that I like Criminal Minds but unfortunately, I couldn’t get the ARC.Reading your review has me convinced, I have to read this. As creepy as it sounds, I like that villain. Sounds scary yet intriguing, sending boding parts to relatives, creepy childhood. I have to read this one. Brilliant review!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I couldn’t get it on NetGalley. I figured that it was because of my location and the copyrights thingy they usually post. I have never tried contacting a publisher before but I will give it a try. I know its going to take a while before the book is locally available here. Thanks for sharing the wonderful review.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, the best way is to contact the publisher for an egalley of it or a proof. They are very polite! Yeah, I hate that! It takes years for some books to get translated! Thank you for reading my review!

        Like

Leave a Reply

