[DNF-REVIEW] See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

see1 see2 see3 see4

myre

This is the kind of book that didn’t pull me into its story. See What I Have Done is a fictionalised tale of the Borden murders and being familiar with it myself I got excited and wanted to read it. Sadly, this wasn’t the book for me – I’m not saying that it’s a bad book  but this one didn’t work for me. I rarely DNF books but SWIHD has put me into a reading slump for more than a week and trust me I tried to approach it a couple of times but again it wasn’t something that entertained me. I feel really bad for not liking this one but that’s how it goes.. you can’t like everything.

I found the narration to be quite weak and the novel itself was rather slow for my taste. I didn’t like the voices of the characters and they didn’t sound convincing to me even though the idea to hear from many other voices in this book sounds fascinating. The premise of the book sounded amazing and that’s the reason why I requested it through Edelweiss. I feel very grateful to have gotten a chance to read it ahead of its publication and I truly believe that just because it wasn’t my cup of tea – it will be someone elses. I encourage you to read this book and see for yourself because you might like it.

I would also like to note that I won’t be rating this book for obvious reasons but I stand by what I said – I urge anyone interested in this novel to give it a chance and read it! I feel like I’ll be the only one who didn’t like this one when more reviews of this book come up.

I would like to thank Edelweiss, the publisher Atlantic Monthly Press and the author Sarah Schmidt for providing me with a electronic copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Add ‘See What I Have Done‘ to your TBR:  goodreads-logo-square

*Purchase ‘See What I Have Done‘ here:  amazoncom-inc-logo

*Purchase ‘See What I Have Done‘ with free worldwide shipping: the_book_depository-svg

**I am in no way compensated by these sites. I am simply sharing it so people can find this book easier.

abtauthor

aevdhmb6
After completing a Bachelor of Arts (Professional Writing and Editing), a Master of Arts (Creative Writing), and a Graduate Diploma of Information Management, Sarah Schmidt currently works as a Reading & Literacy Coordinator (read: a fancy librarian) at a regional public library. She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her partner and daughter. See What I Have Done is her first novel.
Find her on:  Website,  Twitter,  GoodReads
15 thoughts on “[DNF-REVIEW] See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

  1. Oh dear, I’m sorry you didn’t like it, especially since I have a copy and will be reading it soon. But, as you say, books affect different people differenlty, so hopefully I’ll enjoy it – and hopefully your next book will break you back out of that reading slump! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sad to see this one didn’t work for you, especially as I am looking forward to reading it but I really appreciate your honesty – it is good to hear what readers don’t like in a book, even if I don’t end up having the same experience (I hope)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

