[REVIEW] A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

1l 2l 3l 4l

I’ve been eyeing this book since January. As each day passed I got more and more excited for it’s publication. After six (most torturous days) days it finally arrived. This book is something special. I love this book with all my being. As the reviews and description say, this book is ‘heartbreaking‘ but even if you’re not a fan of sad books I’d still recommend reading it. Hanya Yanagihara is a spectacular author. She created characters that are so real. Again, this book is something special. By turning pages and getting deeper into the book I felt drawn into the story, to the power it held. You feel like you’ve witnessed four decades of Jude’s life, which in a way you have.

The story is centered around four people Jude, Willem, JB and Malcolm who move to New York in order to ‘make their way’. As the story progresses we ascertain that Jude is different from the other members of the group. As we read on the story centers on Jude and his story. We find out why he’s different and more about him. Jude St. Francis is a wonderful character and very complex as all of the characters. What stands out about him is his mysterious past that troubles him even after all those years. We’ve got Willem, JB and Malcolm who each have their own stories.

I really have no words to describe this novel. It is truly a masterpiece. How Yanagihara makes you feel protective of Jude and you actually have hard time reading through Jude’s past. This is a story of friendship and it’s meaning. But in the description it says ‘’… transcendent hymn to brotherly love..’’ I have to disagree with this because this is a story about love, friendship, ups and downs of this world.

This novel made me realise how you can’t truly know a person without sharing something whether an adventure, a bad experience etc. Also that memories which we try to neglect can never be forgotten, they are still with us somewhere.

I have nothing more to say because I don’t want to ruin the wonderful and terrible experience of reading this book. I will try and re-read this novel in the future when I’m much older because I know that I’ll appreciate and understand it more than I do now. I’ll just say this is the first book that made me cry in years and that this is one of my favourite books ever.

I give this book:
ratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstarratingstar

One thought on “[REVIEW] A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

  1. Pingback: [REVIEW] Call Me by Your Name by André Aciman | Breathing through pages

Leave a Reply

